Thông báo

7 Iowa caucus winners who didn

Ngày đăng: 26/04/2010 | Lượt xem: 922

7 Iowa caucus winners who didn

Ted Cruz and Hillary Clinton can celebrate a bit after winning at the Iowa caucuses but sometimes a political win in the Hawkeye State doesn mean much in the end.

In many cases, the winner in Iowa has not gone on to earn the ultimate nomination. Senator from Pennsylvania. His campaign took off in Iowa, when he beat eventual GOP nominee Mitt Romney by 34 votes. Huckabee finished third to eventual nominee John McCain in New Hampshire. He would win a handful of other states on Super Tuesday but dropped out of the race in March 2008. Senator Tom Harkin of Iowa won the caucus in his home state by a landslide in 1992. He unsurprisingly wrapped up over 76 percent of the vote there,pandora charms while eventual nominee Bill Clinton enticed only 2.8 percent of Iowa voters. Representative from Missouri was a serious contender for the Democratic nomination in 1988. After winning Iowa with 31.3 percent of the vote, Gephardt finished second in New Hampshire and won the South Dakota primary. But his campaign funding floundered in March, forcing him to drop out of the race. Eventual nominee Michael Dukakis finished third in Iowa. Bush by a wide margin at the 1988 Iowa Republican caucus. He also won primaries in South Dakota and Minnesota but was defeated by Bush in key states across the South. Dole would later successfully earn the GOP presidential nomination for a 1996 run against Bill Clinton.

Republican 1980

A Senator from Maine, was an anti war candidate during the Vietnam War. He was considered the favorite for the 1972 Democratic nomination so it wasn a shock when Muskie won the Iowa caucus but he eventually lost the nomination to Senator George McGovern. Muskie failure was allegedly the result of dirty politics from Republican Richard Nixon campaign, including a forged letter to the editor of a New Hampshire newspaper which damaged Muskie campaign beyond repair.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *